“The development of the Far East is our national priority for the entire 21st century.”
“Changes in the legislation developed by the Government contribute to strengthening the investment appeal of the Far East”
“The Russian Far East has created unprecedented conditions for the economic development of the region.”
News and Events

Japanese and Chinese Citizens Receive Almost 22,000 Electronic Visas

Over 23 500 electronic visas have been issued in the Russian Far East, the most active recipients being Chinese and Japanese citizens who have already obtained almost 22,000 visas (almost 17,000 have been issued to the Chinese and over 4,900 – to the Japanese).
Citizens of 18 nations may apply for an electronic visa. This procedure is accessible at a specialized site and has to be fulfilled 4 days prior to the supposed date of entry. There is no consular fee for arranging this visa.
The system of issuing electronic visas for those willing to come to the Russian Far East was launched in August 2017. Currently, this visa allows to visit three regions in the Far East. In the Primorsky Krai the access is granted at Vladivostok (Knevichi) air check point and Vladivostok, Posyet and Zarubino sea check points. Access by railway is provided at Pogranichny, Khasan and Makhalino, whereas road transport may pass through Poltavka and Turiy Rog. The simplified access procedure is also applied at Sakhalin and Kamchatka.
It should be reminded that the law on spreading the electronic visa mechanism to other air hubs of the Russian Far East was passed by the State Duma on July 3, 2018. After the reviewal, 402 deputies voted in its favor. Currently, the law is being reviewed by the Council of Federation.
It is supposed that the simplified visa regime will be primarily spread on technically advanced checkpoints at regional air havens, including the Elizovo airport in Petropavlovsk Kamchatsky, at the Blagoveschensk airport, at the Novy airport in Khabarovsk, the Khomutovo airport in Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk, and at the Ugolny airport in Anadyr. Further on, with the appropriate technologies implementation in other airports of the Far Eastern Federal District, the simplified procedure will be applied at other airports as well, including Magadan, Yakutsk, and Bukhta Provedenia. According to the law, the list of airports eligible for the simplified entry procedure, is to be determined by the Government of the Russian Federation.  

By Eugenia Vasileva